Leicester-Shire & Rutland Sport set to celebrate the county’s active communities

Posted: Mon, 06 Feb 2017 09:00

Leicester-Shire & Rutland Sport set to celebrate the county’s active communities

Our inaugural Celebration Evening, in partnership with De Montfort University, takes place on Thursday 9th February, 6.00-8.30pm at the Leicester Arena.

The evening will celebrate the significant impact that sport and physical activity has made to improve people's lives, through the work of LRS and its partners. The breadth of work undertaken by LRS and in partnership with all local authorities, schools, national governing bodies of sport and the voluntary sector, to make sport and physical activity more accessible, will be showcased.

The evening will be hosted by Ian Stringer, BBC Radio Leicester Reporter/Commentator and local sport and physical activity advocate Gaynor Nash and will include the presentation of a number of Awards. The nominations have come as a result of an open nomination process and panel selection, or district winners from previously held Local Sport & Physical Activity Alliances Awards.

Andy Reed OBE, Chair of LRS will get proceedings underway and will welcome GO GOLD Funding Programme recipients Wiggle High5 cyclist Grace Garner, and Rio 2016 rower Jonny Walton.

The following Awards will be presented during the Celebration:

The LRS Primary PE & Sport Premium Award

This Award recognises the primary school that has achieved the greatest impact through its use of primary sports premium funding.

Shortlisted Nominees

  • Millfield L.E.A.D. Academy, Leicester
  • Swallowdale Primary School, Melton

The John Buckingham Award for Developing School Sports Associations

The John Buckingham Award is for the Association who has developed, changed or modernised their offer, to ensure more young people can access opportunities in school sport and competition.

The Hilary Johnson Award for Service to PE & School Sport

The Hilary Johnson Award is a Lifetime Achievement Award for long service to PE and School Sport. It is named in memory of Martin Johnson CBE's mother, who was an incredibly dedicated and passionate PE teacher in Leicestershire.

Shortlisted Nominees

  • Dorothy Orr, North West Leicestershire
  • Nigel Williams, Blaby
  • Stephanie Magee, Leicester City

The Workplace Health Award

The Workplace Health Award aims to recognise workplaces who have fully engaged with Workplace Challenge.

Early Years Physical Activity Awards

Most Active Setting Award

Shortlisted Nominees

  • Ashmount School EYFS, Charnwood
  • Daisy Chain Children's Nursery, Blaby
  • Holmsdale Manor Nursery School, North West Leicestershire

Early Years Champion Award

Shortlisted Nominees

  • Katherine Mackness – Apple Tree Nursery, Leicester
  • Kayleigh Nichols – Orchard End Nursery, Hinckley

Parental/Carer Engagement Award

Shortlisted Nominees

  • Fairfield Preparatory School, Charnwood
  • Whetstone Baptist Playgroup, Blaby

Twilight Games Award

7 care homes took part in the competitive week of adapted activities August. This award is presented to the Care Home that demonstrated true 'Spirit of the Games'.

The Alan Kind Award for contribution to Sport (Over 21)

The Alan Kind Award is to recognise volunteers, over the age of 21, who have made a valued contribution to the development and delivery of opportunities in sport over the past 12 months.

Shortlisted Nominees

  • Razia Noormahomed - Oadby & Wigston Muslim Association
  • Linda Harris - Ibstock United Junior & Youth FC
  • Alison Wilcock - Leicester Sharks Swimming Club

The Stuart Lindeman Award for contribution to Sport (Under 21)

The Stuart Lindeman Award is to recognise young volunteers, under the age of 21, who have made a valued contribution to the development and delivery of opportunities in sport over the past 12 months. This may be through leadership, coaching, officiating or in any other support roles.

Shortlisted Nominees

  • David Kennedy – North West Leicestershire
  • Beth Kenney - Hinckley & Bosworth
  • Harry Mathers - Rutland

The Peter Walker Memorial Award for Unsung Hero

The Peter Walker Memorial Award is to recognise the dedicated voluntary work of people who give so much of their time, effort and experience to encourage others to take part in sport and physical activity.

Shortlisted Nominees

  • Ian Crisp – Burbage Cricket Club
  • Mick Ballard – Barrow Runners
  • Sue Foulkes – Leicester City Ladies FC

Tags: Active Lifestyle, Deliver Sport, Disability Sport, Featured-bigger, Funding, News, Play Sport, Women's Sport