1,000 athletes get set for Summer School Games sizzler this Friday!

Posted: Mon, 26 Jun 2017 09:16

1,000 athletes get set for Summer School Games sizzler this Friday!

The final Leicester-Shire & Rutland School Games event of 2016/17 will take place at Uppingham School Sports Centre, as the Summer Championships returns on Friday 30th June.

Having previously been held at the venue in 2014, Uppingham will see out the 2016/17 calendar of events as almost 1,000 primary school pupils will battle it out on behalf of their school and partnership area.

The Summer Championships is the pinnacle of primary level school sport, with schools having progressed through from earlier Level 2 competitions to represent their partnership area.

The day will begin with Gaynor Nash compering the event, and a special dance performance and mass warm-up from local Rutland Youth Dance Academy during the Opening Ceremony. GO GOLD funded Athlete Ben Higgins from Rutland, who is an international 400m hurdler will be on hand at the Closing Ceremony to hand out the winning trophies.

From over 60 schools, 118 Teams will battle it out for School Games glory across a range of sports. In total, 12 competitions will take place. These are:

  • Quadkids Athletics - Year 3/4 Mixed
  • Quadkids Athletics - Year 5/6 Mixed
  • Kwik Cricket - Year 5/6 Mixed
  • Kwik Cricket - Year 6 Girls
  • Quicksticks Hockey - Year 3/4 Mixed
  • Quicksticks Hockey - Year 5/6 Mixed
  • High 5 Netball - Year 5/6 Mixed
  • Sportsability – Key Stage 2 Pan Disability
  • Swimming - Year 5/6 Mixed
  • Tri Golf - Year 3/4 Mixed
  • Tri Golf - Year 5/6 Mixed
  • Change 4 Life Festival – Year 3/4 Mixed (participation)

Which Partnership will be crowned 'School Games Champions' and 'Spirit of the Games Champions' for 2016/17?

Throughout the 2016/17 school year, schools representing their partnership areas have competed in 6 Super-Series Finals and the Spring Championships back in April to help their partnership climb the School Games Medals Table, but will who take the titles this year? (Table as it currently stands)

The School Games action doesn't stop for 2017 though. Loughborough University will again host the National School Games from 31st August – 3rd September 2017, where the most talented young athletes compete. There are opportunities for Schools and spectators to attend and a School ticket offer for just £1 per person!

The Leicester-Shire & Rutland School Games, now in its seventh year, is part of the national 'School Games Programme' that is a unique opportunity to motivate and inspire young people to take part in more competitive school sport. It is open to all young people aged 5-18 years, of all abilities and backgrounds from every school across Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland.

The latest results and photos from the Summer Championships will be updated throughout the day live on social media - follow #LRSchoolGames.

Team Blaby & Harborough - Entering 12 teams / approx. 107 athletes

  • Badgerbook Primary School
  • Danemill Primary School
  • Fleckney Primary School
  • Greenfield Primary School
  • Greystoke Primary School
  • Leicester Grammar Junior School
  • Meadowdale Primary School
  • St Joesph's Catholic Voluntary Academy

Team North Charnwood - Entering 12 teams / approx. 107 athletes

  • Burton-on-the-Wolds Primary School
  • Hall Orchard CE Pimary School
  • Orchard Primary School
  • Outwoods Edge Primary School
  • Robert Bakewell Primary School
  • St Bartholomew's CE Primary School
  • St Botolph's Primary School

Team South Charnwood - Entering 11 teams / approx. 99 athletes

  • Bishop Ellis Primary School
  • Church Hill Primary School
  • Highcliffe Primary School
  • St Michael and All Angels Primary School
  • St Peter & St Paul's Academy
  • The Hall Primary School
  • The Pochin School

Team Hinckley & Bosworth - Entering 12 teams / approx. 107 athletes

  • Dixie Grammar School
  • Mercenfeld Primary School
  • Millfield LEAD Academy
  • Sketchley Hill Primary School
  • Stafford Leys Primary
  • Thornton Primary School

Team East Leicester - Entering 12 teams / approx. 107 athletes

  • Linden Primary School
  • Mayflower Primary School
  • Mellor Community Primary School
  • Merrydale Junior School
  • Sandfield Close Primary School
  • St Thomas More Catholic Primary School
  • Uplands Primary School
  • Willowbrook Primary Academy

Team West Leicester - Entering 12 teams / approx. 107 athletes

  • Avenue Primary School
  • Braunstone Community Primary School
  • Braunstone Frith Primary School
  • Eyres Monsell Primary School
  • Glebelands Primary School
  • Granby Primary School
  • Holy Cross Catholic Primary School
  • Rollestone Primary School
  • St John the Baptist CE Primary School
  • Tudor Grange Samworth Academy

Team Melton & Belvoir - Entering 12 teams / approx. 107 athletes

  • Ab Kettleby Primary School
  • Bottesford Primary School
  • Brownlow Primary School
  • Great Dalby Primary School
  • Redmile Primary School
  • Stathern Primary School

Team North West Leicestershire - Entering 12 teams / approx. 107 athletes

  • Forest Way School
  • Measham CE Primary School
  • Whitwick St John's Primary School
  • Ashby Willesley Primary School

Team Oadby & Wigston - Entering 11 teams / approx. 99 athletes

  • All Saints CE Primary School
  • Brocks Hill Primary School
  • Fairfield Primary School
  • Glenmere Primary School
  • Manor High School

Team Rutland - Entering 12 teams / approx. 107 athletes

  • Bringhurst Primary School
  • Brooke Hill Academy
  • Catmose Primary School
  • Edith Weston Primary School
  • Hallaton Primary School
  • Leighfield Primary School

Tags: Athletics, Cricket, Deliver Sport, Disability Sport, Featured-bigger, Golf, Hockey, Netball, News, Play Sport, Swimming