School Games set for summer sizzler finale

Posted: Wed, 27 Jun 2018 09:00

School Games set for summer sizzler finale
  • Over 1,000 athletes from over 60 winning schools across Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland set to compete.
  • 12 competitions across 8 sports – Quadkids Athletics, Kwik Cricket, Tri Golf, Quicksticks Hockey, Netball, Sportsability, Swimming and a Change 4 Life Festival.
  • Sam Ruddock, F35 Shot Put Silver Medallist and LRS Board Member, Ben Higgins 400m hurdler from Rutland and GO GOLD Ambassadorand former Leicester Tigers and England U21 Rugby player Matt Hampson will be supporting the Opening and Closing Ceremonies.

Over 1,000 of Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland's most talented young athletes and disabled athletes will take centre stage at the School Games Summer Championships finale on Friday 29th June at Uppingham School Sports Centre.

The primary aged athletes aged 8-11 years, representing over 60 schools, will be proudly representing the 10 School Sport & Physical Activity Networks (SSPANs), in 12 competitions across 8 sports.

The Summer Championships is one of the biggest primary school sport events of the year, with schools having qualified from their Level 2 area finals to compete.

The day will begin with Gaynor Nash compering the Opening Ceremony supported by Sam Ruddock and will include a mass warm-up and special performance from British Judo and GO GOLD Judo athletes. In addition, there will be a mascot race, as 'Zoom' from the newly launched programme the 'Daily Boost', will race against Dazzle (School Games mascot) and Leo the Leicester-Shire & Rutland Sport lion!

Over 60 schools will go head to head to triumph across a range of sports and competitions:

  • Quadkids Athletics: Year 3/4 and Year 5/6 Mixed
  • Kwik Cricket: Year 5/6 Mixed and Girls
  • Quicksticks Hockey: Year 3/4 and Year 5/6 Mixed
  • Netball: Year 5/6 High 5 Mixed
  • Sportsability: Key Stage 2 Mixed Pan Disability
  • Swimming: Year 5/6 Mixed
  • Tri-Golf: Year 3/4 and Year 5/6 Mixed
  • Change 4 Life Festival (participation): Year 3/4 Mixed

The Closing Ceremony, supported by Ben Higgins and Matt Hampson will see the winners of each competition and Spirit of the Games winners presented with their Trophies, and 2nd and 3rd place acknowledge. All Teams will gain points on the day for their Partnership and these will be added to the School Games Medals Table, which will see the partnership '2017/18 School Games Champions' and 'Spirit of the Games Champions' crowned!

School Games action doesn't stop there, as Loughborough University are once again hosting the National School Games from 30th August – 2nd September 2018, where the country's most talented young athletes compete, with exclusive opportunities available for local Primary and Secondary Schools.

The Leicester-Shire & Rutland School Games, now in its seventh year, is part of the national 'School Games Programme'. It aims to keep competitive sport at the heart of schools and provide more young people with the opportunity to compete and achieve their personal best.

Partnership Team Entries

Blaby & Harborough

Badgerbrook Primary School | Meadowdale Primary School | Claybrooke Primary School | Leicester Grammar School | Old Mill Primary School | St Peters C of E Primary School

North Charnwood

Hall Orchard C of E Primary School | Newcroft Primary Academy | Orchard Community Primary School | St Bartholomew's C of E Primary School | St Pauls C of E Primary School

South Charnwood

Bishop Ellis Catholic Primary School | Church Hill Juniors CofE Primary School | Glenfield Primary School | Highcliffe Primary School | Riverside Community School | Rothley Primary School | St Peter and St Paul Academy | The Pochin Primary School

Hinckley & Bosworth

All Saint's Sharnford Sapcote | Burbage Junior School | Mercenfeld Primary School | Millfield LEAD Academy | Richmond Primary School | Sheepy Magna C of E Primary School | Sketchley Hill Primary School | St Margaret's C of E Primary School | Stafford Leys Primary School

East Leicester

Evington Valley Primary School | Mellor Primary School | Oaklands School | Sandfield Close Primary School | Spinney Hill Primary School | St. Thomas More Catholic Primary School | Willowbrook Primary School

West Leicester

Avenue Primary School | Beaumont Lodge Primary School | Folville Junior School | Glebelands Primary School | Granby Primary School | Holy Cross Catholic Primary School | Overdale Junior School | Stokes Wood Primary School

Melton & Belvoir

Bottesford C of E Primary School | Brownlow Primary School | Long Clawson C of E Primary School | Old Dalby C of E Primary School | Redmile C of E Primary School | Stathern Primary School | Swallowdale Primary School

North West Leicestershire

Ashby Hill Top Primary School | Broom Leys Primary School | Griffydam Primary School | Hugglescote Primary School | New Swannington Primary School | Willesley Primary School

Oadby & Wigston

Brocks Hill Primary School | Fairfield Community Primary School | Glenmere Community Primary School | Launde Primary School | Woodland Grange Primary School | Birkett House School


Leighfield Academy | Brooke Hill Academy | Catmose Primary School | English Martyrs Catholic School | Langham C of E Primary School | Leighfield Academy | St Nicholas C of E (Aided) Primary School |Tugby C of E Primary School

For live action and results, follow #LRSchoolGames

Tags: Athletics, Cricket, Deliver Sport, Disability Sport, Featured-bigger, Golf, Hockey, Netball, News, Play Sport, Swimming